Human Rights issues for Gender & Sexual Minorities Christchurch

The Human Rights Commission (Commission) is hosting a series of open forum consultations across Aotearoa for people with diverse or minority sexual orientations, gender identities, and sex characteristics.

We know that the human rights issues of healthcare, employment, education, housing, data collection and violence affect gender and sexual minorities. We want to hear from you about your experience with these and other issues. We also want to hear about your proposed solutions and recommendations.

An opportunity to speak and to listen, this hui will be facilitated by trans and takatāpui staff from the Commission and ILGA Oceania. The information we gather about your priority human rights issues will form thebasis of our submissions to the United Nations. We want to get as much data from as many people as possible to help us improve the current human rights landscape for gender and sexual minorities.

The Commission encourages you to tell the United Nations what you think about the issues affecting you and your communities. This consultation will provide you with tools and information to enable you to participate in the United Nations process through the upcoming reviews in 2018.

Please join us at this physically accessible venue (including free, accessible parking and accessible, gender-neutral bathrooms) for discussion and light vegetarian/vegan kai on the 20th of March. This event is free but registration is required for catering purposes.

If you have any specific access needs please feel free to email


March 20, 2018 at 6:45pm - 8:45pm


Register for this event


Andrés Nikolic Svetlana Rivilis Angela McLeod Vicki Rae West Joanne Neilson Rawa Karetai Taine Polkinghorne Sasha Taylor Shiv Prasad Pokhrel Jeremy Elgin Richard K Tankersley Haze Usmar Nick Winchester Katie Brown Sam Mcintyre Kerry Maw-Smith Rosie Muir Karena Brown David Stirling Bowie Abby Robertson Doroteia Driver Joy McManaway Bishnu Pokhrel Hamish Johnston Nidhi Jacob Kim Prance Cynthia Spittal Liu Cooper Sonny Barker Chris Coles Amy Tait Netra Prasad Sharma